MTWC Challenge Round 4 at VSCC Cadwell June 2012

The MTWC Challenge Round 4 at VSCC Cadwell on 9th June 2012

There was a good grid of Morgans with 14 cars starting after Alistair Rew had valve gear problems in practice. Bruce Grant and Neil Smith had already scratched with mechanical maladies left over from previous meetings. Hamish Bibby and Katie Bain were on pole with Tim and Annette Gray alongside. Hamish led from the start to take the victory by 20 seconds from Chas Reynolds with Greg Bibby, passengered by Maggie Tuer, taking third place. Gary Caroline was flying and finished ahead of Sue Darbyshire who was driving the road car because of the injury to her arm from Wiscombe while Pete Clews finished at the tail end of the Racing Class. The TM class victory went to Tony Quinn but only by a second from Matt Orford. Danny Hodgson had spun at the Old Hairpin and finished a lap behind followed by Richard and Vicki White, Chas Pilbeam and Cathy Quinn. Chris Harfield made his circuit debut passengered by George Gould and took the Standard Class honours.

MTWC Challenge Round 4 at VSCC Cadwell June 2012

Morgans continued to race successfully in the VSCC races during the afternoon. Sue Darbyshire had entered the Geoghegan Trophy Race for Sports Cars and finished 5th having battled with an 8C Alfa Romeo for most of the race. The John Holland Trophy saw Duncan Wood and Gary Caroline line up with a very strong field of vintage racers. Duncan had qualified on pole after really flying in practice and despite the usual 2 speeder difficulty getting away from the start he fought his was back to 3rd place and set what we think is the fastest lap ever by a 2 speeder Morgan at Cadwell with a blistering 1: 54.52.

Here are some photos from Dennis Rushton who also provided the captions. To view the photo gallery, click on any of the photos to bring up a larger version. You can scroll forwards and backwards using the [,] and [.] keys. Press [ESC] or click on the image to Exit.


[nggallery id=11]